The Night Chicago Died (and other guilty pleasures)

We all have them.  Songs hidden deep within our iPods.  Songs that make us happy – that perhaps carry a memory or two – but that don’t quite fit into the musical personality we like to project to the world.  So we keep them hidden away, only to come out when alone – in the car, over the headphones, alone at home.  Then we blast, dance and sing – but only if there’s no one looking.  Over time, certain formerly hidden songs or artists can take on a new, almost hipster appeal.  Back in the mid-80’s, many a punker had a bit of Patsy Cline sprinkled into their mix tapes, for example.  Sometimes it’s a cultural cue that make’s a formerly embarrassing song take on a new life; the movie 500 Days of Summer did just that for a certain Hall and Oates song.

Truth be told, I don’t really hide from these songs anymore.  I have a pretty eclectic collection and taste in music and at the ripe old age of 51, I’m secure enough to let that freak flag fly all it wants.  These songs bring me pleasure but I’ve left the guilt behind.  You’ll excuse me if I don’t dance in front of you, though – I do have a few shreds of dignity left to hang on to!

Without further ado, here’s a few not-so-guilty pleasures* from my current playlist:

What’s hiding on YOUR playlist?

*not to be confused with the “embarrass your children” songs, which include a few by Justin Bieber.  Handy to pull out when giving rides to said child and group of friends. <grin>

One thought on “The Night Chicago Died (and other guilty pleasures)

  1. Oh T, there are so many. “I Think I Love You” by The Partridge Family, anything by The BeeGees, “Billy Don’t Be A Hero” and too many more to mention. I’m a true sap at heart and my 3000 songs on my iPod classic are all over the map but then so are my moods, so it’s a perfect match. 🙂

Leave a Reply

